Wednesday, April 11, 2007

E-numbers (Food)

E-numbers may be derived from animal origin. In many cases the origin of the product may be either from animal or non-animal sources. This is especially the case for those additives that contain fatty acids. These are normally of plant origin, but animal origin cannot be excluded. As the products are chemically identical, only the producers can give information on the exact origin.
For example, E471: Although mainly vegetable oils are used, the use of animal fat (incl. pork) cannot be excluded. Synthetic fats, produced from glycerol and natural fatty acids, mainly from plant origin, but also fats of animal origin may be used.
Wheypowder: A fraction of milk (Whey, wheypowder and cheese may not be halal when the animal that provided the rennet to clot the milk, is not slaughtered according to Islamic rules. Only the producer can provide the information on the status of these products.)
For a more complete guide (see links below):

Islamic Quotes 27th April 2018